Spain and Portugal: Free shipping on orders over 20 Euros



Andrés Valero

Woodwind duo and piano

  • Complete SET
  • Printed
  • Digital


Data sheet

Andrés Valero-Castells




DODI is a composition based on a series of twelve notes that appears under four different forms, each of them as result of a simple numerical speculation.           The series is not treated with the technique of  the “twelve-notes music”, but dividing from all twelve consecutive sounds (An = n) and in arithmetical progression, it happens to turn into two subseries with the sounds even and uneven respectively (An = 2n-1; An = 2n), in three subseries (An = 3n-2; An = 3n-1; An = 3n), and in four (An = 4n-3; An = 4n-2; An = 4n-1; An = 4n), which provides a constant game to us with the concept of cell, understood as basic unit with identity or own meaning.

Formally this initial exposition determines the whole piece, since a section is established for each of the forms that adopts the series - originally and three variants - followed by a section in which are summarized the previous ones and a last part in which all the exposed forms coexist. The first section that serves as introduction, it begins with a cluster in the low attitude of the piano making sound all twelve sounds, and later the original series is three consecutive times, but attending to the stamp, already we observe all three variants of the series; later the piano exposes all three mentioned variants alternated with the cluster and in gradual increase of tension to give step to the  Allegro ma non troppo with that there begins the second section in which there develops the second form of the series (the first variant). This second section, as the third one and the fourth one, are concluded with an appointment to the original series and a brief wedge of the happened in the corresponding section.  The fifth section, summary of the previous three, also concludes with an appointment of the original way. After a recollection of the first introductory section, there begins the sixth and last part, in which since already it has been said, there coexist simultaneously all three variants of the original series.

With the exception of the first section or introduction, each of the parts or sections possesses a distinctive personality, but they all have jointly the tempo and the marked relief granted to the rhythmic aspect.

The original version of this work (1999-AV30, for violin, cello and piano) was premiered on November 24, 2003 at the opening concert of the V International Festival of Contemporary Music of Madrid, COMA-03 (Círculo de Bellas Artes, Sala de Columnas), by the Encrim Ensemble (Ema Alexeeva, Rafael Domínguez, and Álvaro Guijarro). This version is made for the Ausiàs March Trio (Daniel Ibáñez, Esteve Casanova, and Claudio Carbó), who premiered it on July 2, 2022, at the Llutxent Monastery, within the Music in Construction cycle, organized by the Diputación de Valencia.

Andrés Valero-Castells

  • Política de seguridad (editar con el módulo Información de seguridad y confianza para el cliente) Política de seguridad (editar con el módulo Información de seguridad y confianza para el cliente)
  • Política de envío (editar con el módulo Información de seguridad y confianza para el cliente) Política de envío (editar con el módulo Información de seguridad y confianza para el cliente)

This is a standard cookie notice which you can easily adapt or disable as you like in the admin. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website.Read more

Or sign in with:

Compare (0 items) My wishlist Contact us
Please login first

Or sign in with:

Your cart

There are no more items in your cart